New year, new laws in Missouri and Illinois
(KTVI) – A little more cash is coming to Missouri workers, and there are some big changes coming to Illinois drivers.
Illinois residents can start applying for permits to carry concealed firearms in their pockets or purses. Applicants need to know a few things first:
You need proper state identification, a current ‘firearm owner ID card,’ and proof that you have completed firearms training.
Also in Illinois, medical marijuana is legal with a prescription. Speed limits are increasing on some interstates, but not all of those signs are up yet, so drivers should honor the posted limits if you don’t want a ticket.
Teens under 18 in Illinois are now banned from using tanning salons. And in another surprising law, you could be fined up to $1,500 for cigarette butt littering.
In Missouri, there are only a few laws going into effect. But many were waiting for an increase in the minimum wage. Beginning January 1, the wage jumps from $7.35 an hour to $7.50 an hour.
Missouri is one of 20 states with a rate that surpasses the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. The increase is still about half of what thousands of fast-food workers spent 2013 rallying for — an increase to $15 an hour.